Wk3 – Artist Interview – Yireh Elaine Kwak

I went to the Gatov-West gallery and looked at art by Yireh Elaine Kwak.  The title of Yireh’s work is Harmony & Discordance:Conflicting Landscapes.  She gets the inspiration from real life experiences.  They also come from abstracting ideas and based off memories.  She is mostly an oil painter.  I was particularly drawn to her work because I love nature and the outdoors.

The title of the painting in the picture is “Walk in the Park.”  This was by far my favorite painting.  This is a real view from her house.  Her home is on a hill surrounded by nature.  This picture reminds me of my hometown in Illinois.  Lots of green and that is what I love about it.  It looks like a golf course as well and I used to work on a golf course for 3 years so a lot of memories came rushing back as I was looking at the picture.

FullSizeRender[1]

Leave a Reply

