Wk4 – Artist Interview – Daniel Rivera

I visited the Dr. Maxine Merino Gallery with art made by Danial Rivera.  I was really drawn to this art gallery on this particular day.  I think it was seeing from a distance that it was dark inside, which made you want to see what was inside.  As I entered I saw black light shining on a wall with a pink light radiating from it.  I thought it was really cool because I had not seen art like this before.

The piece was called “Post Tenebras Law.”  This means after darkness, light.  When talking to the artist he described his work as him finding himself through adversity.  It is like you are breaking away from your mold.  He had help from his friends in sort of a production line to finish the piece.  He was even giving away the pieces on the wall to anyone who truly wanted one, which I thought was very different from anyone else.

FullSizeRender (1)555555

Leave a Reply

