Wk 6 – Activity – Yarn Bombing

For the yarn bombing activity I decided to kind of kill two bids with one stone.  I went to my parents home this weekend in Ventura and when I was in our backyard I noticed our avocado tree was leaning a lot most likely due to the high winds.  So I decided to fix the reinforcement it had and while doing that I used a green fiber that I found in our garage.  I realized this could be considered a sort of yarn bombing not just for fun but for an actual need.  While tying the knots to keep the tree steady I was definitely thinking about the texture of the fiber way more than I ever would had I not heard about yarn bombing.

I enjoyed both this and the graffiti writing because it has made me think more and more about the different types of art.  I think the graffiti is definitely more aggressive than the yarn bombing.  I think it is fair to say the yarn bombing is considered more feminine.  It is kind of like sewing, it seems like more woman sew than men.  I believe the same can be said about yarn and knitting.  I don’t think our culture values things men do more than woman.  I think each gender gets equal respect when it comes to art.  If people think the art piece is beautiful I don’t think they would downgrade it just for the fact that a woman made it.

FullSizeRender (2)8888FullSizeRender (2)6666

Leave a Reply

